The Hope

20140814-122010.jpg
shine bright like a diamond

My heart is a diamond,
the hardest known natural material,
enduring and sparkling
with enigmatic beauty.

Cut only by other diamonds,
my heart is cut
by the vicious action of yours
into the latticed crystal of my being,
the pressure and sharpness
of your dark love language
that shatters
me apart.

Even diamonds have a cleavage point.

Hope may appear magnificent
in its grand facade
but beneath that there is a blueness
that permeates its structure.
A red glow
that lingers in a dark room,
revealing its underlying curse.

I am tired
of the pressure
that formed me;
of being mined
for my resources;
of all the blood
that has been spilt.

I just want
to shine.

3 thoughts on “The Hope

  1. bejamin4 says:

    A very strong piece. And powerful ending!

Leave a Reply

