Wasted

Trying not to fall off the wagon

eroticapoetica

20140209-164240.jpg
I am wishing for a small thing
to give me pleasure.
Just something little.
A gesture of sweetness,
like my lover’s fingers rubbing the soft skin of my forearm
as he held me;
a touch of comfort
in the rain.

My heart grows drunk
on small sips.

I am a lightweight,
easily intoxicated
by smiles,
or better yet kisses.

But you are dangerous.

A shot of tequila,
aged well and strong.

Your words of love
go down smooth
like liquid fire.

I could easily
drink a case
and end up wasted.

View original post

One thought on “Wasted

  1. bejamin4 says:

    This stanza is great:

    “I am a lightweight,
    easily intoxicated
    by smiles,
    or better yet kisses.”

Leave a Reply

