Like the Falling Snow

One November night

I drove up the steep slope

of the 4th of July Pass;

plowed through sheets of fresh snow,

all starry white, glazed with sparkling frost,

headed towards Coeur D’Alene,

towards home.

 

You were lying next to me,

your breath rising and falling in my ears,

fogging the windshield,

your body slack with sleep.

 

I sank into the heated leather seat of my Jetta,

blared the defroster,

listened to Habib Koite softly crooning,

as my heart stretched

over all of I 90,

expansive and wide and wild as Montana,

clenching and breaking with too much love for you,

knowing that soon

you would leave.

 

Yet that moment was silent

and serene

like the falling snow.

2 thoughts on “Like the Falling Snow

  1. Whilst I don’t know what the lyrics actually mean, I’ve listened to this three times now. Love it! Thank you.

  2. Pua Nani says:

    cool, glad you liked; you may like to check out Habib Koite’s albums. He has so much good music. I’ve seen him play a couple of times. I tend to like music without words that I understand as I don’t like to focus on the messages of a lot of song lyrics, which can be quite depressing. Without discernible words you can just enjoy the mood of the music and ascribe your own meanings.

Leave a Reply

